our community is amazing.

January 23, 2010 § 1 Comment

I don’t know if you’ve been following the Yarn Harlot at all, but since she started tallying donations in 2004 to Doctors Without Borders from knitters, the total amount donated has exceeded one million dollars.

One Million Dollars.

Never put it past the knitters to help someone, or a nation, in need. I see this in my real life knitting group and in my online knitting community. It’s incredible to be a part of this generation. Thanks to Ravelry’s option for designers to donate via pattern sales, Help for Haiti, I was able to help a little bit by purchasing a pattern. I know it’s not much, but as Stevie Wonder said during the telethon last night, “A lot of littles make a lot of lots”, or something to that effect.

I bought and have been working on Althea from Through the Loops.

I’m one repeat past the heel since I took this photo, but it’s too late (inspiration strikes at funny times!) to get a current photo.The next photo will probably be of a finished pair. :)

Thanks for being awesome, everyone.

§ One Response to our community is amazing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading our community is amazing. at Wileycomma.

meta

