K-Day

September 10, 2010 § 4 Comments

Every fall, my school hosts an expo-type event where all the organizations can set up booths and let everyone know what they’re about. As a result, we get Friday classes after noon cancelled so the students can attend K-Day (or Keweenaw Day). This marks the third year where I just went home after classes to enjoy the slightly longer weekend. Kelly and I rode bikes to class at 9 and after our only class, we rode downtown to the yarn/sew shop. I picked up a few fat quarters and some of my favorite Clover stitch markers.

Then for dinner I made chicken salad, like Cameron’s mom makes. I love it. It’s got grapes, pecans, lemon juice, and celery in it. I like to eat it with a slice of bread, homemade preferred, but Italian bread from the grocery store will do since I have yet to really try making bread.

This sock photo is misleading. I’m just finishing with the gusset decreases already. That’s what happens when I pair up handspun and an afternoon off.

§ 4 Responses to K-Day

  • I love the yarn you are using for your sock and better yet, that chicken salad looks yummy. I wonder how I can make it without using mayo?

    It’s nice to have a long weekend, that’s the best kind of celebration.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Not sure how a sub would taste, but I’ve heard people use sour cream or yogurt, but I’m not sure where those stand on your list.

  • Will you share your recipe? It looks great and I love fruited chicken salad. Get a bread maker. It is not the same as making it yourself but it is pretty close. The smell alone is worth it.

    • Elizabeth says:

      There isn’t much of a recipe, except for watching Karen make it a few times. I did get some help though, so here’s what I did. Cameron’s mom uses chicken breasts with skin and bones (for flavor, I guess). I had already bought skinless, boneless chicken, so that works too. I used six chicken breasts. Add to a large pot and cover with water. Cut up a medium onion into thin wedges or roughly chopped and add some few whole peppercorns (about 10 or so). Bring to a boil and then turn to a simmer until done. She said with bones it takes about 25 minutes. When it’s done, let it cool to touch then cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces. Then I cut up a few stalks of celery, several bunches of red grapes, and two small bags of pecans. Karen made sure to let me know that lemon juice was really important, so I added about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice to the cut up chicken (‘when I use 6 chicken breast halves I use the juice of at least 1 1/2 lemons.” is what she told me). Then I added probably a third to half a cup of mayonnaise (not sure I just added a couple spoonfuls). Salt and pepper to taste and mix it all up. I put it in the fridge to get cold because I think the grapes are crisper when they’re cold. Some of the recipes we get from his mom are approximations like this, but I think it’s kind of fun to just make it up as I go along. My non-knitter grandma probably has a bread machine she’d let me have. She’s the one who gave me a whole kitchen worth of stuff and still has plenty leftover!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading K-Day at Wileycomma.

meta

