An acquired taste

September 12, 2010 § 3 Comments

So.

Sew. Sewing hasn’t come to me as easily as I would have liked it to. After seeing a whole bunch of knitters be successful quilters, I thought, “I want to do that!” I don’t quite have the same motivation to sew as I do to knit. Part of it might be that I don’t have a dedicated sewing area. I have to move nearly everything off my desk to set up my machine. Another part of it might be that it’s not easy for me! It doesn’t really come naturally to me like I thought it would. The math is something to get used to. Getting to know my machine is a bit more complicated than getting to know two sticks and string. Regardless, I’m going to keep plugging along because quilted blankets can be more practical than stretchy, knitted wool blankets and I love the look of them and the care that went into them. I still enjoy looking at sewing tutorials and I’m looking forward to getting better and I know that it takes practice. That’s what I say to everyone who tells me they wish they could knit. “I’ve been practicing for five years now!”

So, here’s some more practice.

§ 3 Responses to An acquired taste

  • Maybe being around other quilters would help?

    I wish you could sit down with my Aunt Linda. Grandma sewed for a living so quilting came naturally. When she died, Aunt Linda decided to take all the supplies and learn. I have a few beautiful quilts and wall hangings made by her.

    You are a talented lady…I’m sure with practice it will come.

  • Haha, Elizabeth, I went through the EXACT same thing! I looove knitting and anything to do with fiber and thought I would love quilting the same. And it’s just sewing straight lines, right? I can do that! err…. Not so much. Quilting is super hard!!

    I successfully (sorta) made a quilt right before we were married. I really like it, and though it caused me a bit of frustration I have not given up completely on quilting. I’ll try again sometime soon when I’m feeling brave and ambitious again.

    Keep trying!! We can help support each other!

    xoxo
    Talia Christine

  • Tracy says:

    I quilted before I knitted. I was never a huge fan of the machine sewing part, but I loved hand quilting, I think for the same reason I love knitting which is the ability to do both in a comfy chair while listening to people talk or watching tv. When you are machine sewing you are stuck at the machine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An acquired taste at Wileycomma.

meta

