a catch up

October 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve been meaning to blog since the middle of last week to catch up on the rest of September, but I kept putting it off in favor of spinning and knitting. And now I’m putting off homework, so here I blog.

Since we last met, I finished a pair of handspun socks, in record time for me, might I add. Just a week.

I knit a commission for a friend back home.

I decided to take Carrie’s advice and just knit my FC handspun into a hat, even though I have bad luck with hats. It fits! Who knew? The pattern is Felicity and I cast on 90 stitches, instead of the 70 in the pattern and used smaller needles to fit my pretty pretty yarn.

I went on a hike with Cameron and our roommates. The trees are even better today than when we went last weekend.

I spun some more yarn. I bought this roving at the Michigan Fiber Festival from Rainbow Yarns Northwest, who were in Michigan from Washington. This was my first time spinning polwarth and it was a treat. It’s a touch softer than merino and it spun up beautifully. I chain-plied it and got about 400 yards from the 4 ounces.

I’m trying my hand at design again. Most likely not for any real pattern to come of it, but just for something that I see in my head and I hope it works out.

And finally, I’m participating in Kirsten’s TTL Mystery Sock KAL 2010. I’m not going to put the sock up on my blog in case you want to play along and don’t have the time to start right away, but you can click through to my flickr and see my version here. Flickr will be a spoiler, so sorry about that if you’ve already been there before reading this post.

Happy Socktober!

§ 2 Responses to a catch up

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a catch up at Wileycomma.

meta

