my short row predicament

October 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

A couple days ago, I wanted to blog about how my short row heels on my socks were kind of skewed, but wordpress was down for me for some reason. Since then, I’ve googled and re-learned the proper way to turn a heel.

A few years ago, I learned how to make short row heels because I liked not having to keep track of decreasing gusset stitches and I liked the look of them. But I must have retained the information incorrectly because this is how I’ve been making them.

I’ve done if for several pairs, actually. (These are the ones I have with me here at school.) At first, I thought it was happening with the blue socks because I knit them out of handspun yarn and that’s what was causing the biasing (which does play a part), so I just accepted that pair. Then when I knit the knee highs, it didn’t bother me much. Then when I sat down to knit heels on these little socks for a gift, it suddenly bothered me and I went a searchin’ for a fix.

And I looked at a tutorial that I remember seeing before on Laura’s blog.

I guess I had been picking up the wraps from which ever side I was working on, rather than picking them up from the right side only. This is how I was doing it:

and this is how it’s supposed to be done (this is only the first wrap, so I’m only picking up one wrap. most of the time, I’m picking up two wraps):

Problem solved!

§ 3 Responses to my short row predicament

  • You know…in the not too distant future I will be knitting socks and I will come back to your blog and this will totally make sense.
    Thank you for sharing…

    I started a pair of KalamazooKnits Fingerless Mitts for Sister Bear on size 3 needles. As I’m ribbing, I keep telling Grumpy that this is hows my sock knitting will go except for the scary heel.

    • Elizabeth says:

      You’re gonna love sock-type projects, especially for when you have to wait in Jxn. They’re quick to pull in and out of a bag while you’re waiting.

  • Mags says:

    I’d never even thought of there being another way to do it than the way I did it. So much for critical thinking eh? Luckily for me I’ve inadvertently been doing it right the whole time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading my short row predicament at Wileycomma.

meta

