eternal satisfaction

November 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m nearing the end of my school stash and this has resulted in my using up of old yarns. I’ve knitted and ripped several items with this beautiful yarn. I wasn’t satisfied with what would knit up. Scarves were either too short or the slight pooling would bother me, which are always indications that I should take it out.

Then I saw a few friends making eternity scarves. They’re essentially a big cowl that you loop and double up around your neck. I liked this idea because I don’t like tugging things tightly over my hair (static!) and this big loop is just the right length that that doesn’t really happen. I can also wear it undone and then it can be a nice, single layer of warmth (I get hot easily).

Pattern: Based on the Eternity Scarf projects in Ravelry. I cast on what other people modified theirs to (225 sts) and then I tried to recreate the middle pattern with some k1,p1 and purl ridges and then I switched to stockinette and used up all but 18 inches of the yarn.
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend, two skeins. Next time, I’m going to try to find a solid grey (which I almost got instead of this in the first place) because when don’t I love a nice neutral grey to go with everything?
Needles: US 9

I foresee a lot of use from this. And gifts, if I have enough of the right sort of yarn at home. I’ll find out over Thanksgiving break in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading eternal satisfaction at Wileycomma.

meta

